Adam Savage on the Courage to Try

A nice article from Adam Savage, co-host of Discovery Channel’s MythBusters, about how he tried and tried and tried….

Ts-savage-auto-didact_f

I found this photo a few weeks ago. It’s me in 1992, shortly after moving to San Francisco. I’m 25 and that is my first car, a 1978 Volvo 245DL. Great vehicle. I could fit a 4-by-8 sheet of plywood in the back. I painted those clouds on it because I thought it would look awesome — and also because I had bought a crap-ton of lacquer spray paint before a California ban went into effect, and it was going bad.

I was living pretty hand to mouth in those days, and Volvos can be expensive to maintain. So in addition to being a canvas, this car taught me about auto repair. More important, it taught me how to parse complex systems, a skill that’s been essential in every professional environment I’ve found myself in since.

Read the full article on Wired.com

Questions;
1) What experiences in your life took real courage to try something new or different? How did this impact your life?

2) What choices do we make each day to challenge the status quo of ourselves, family and organisation?
Leave a Reply

